Putting your head above the parapet

Discussion board for ethical dilemmas we face at work

Putting your head above the parapet

Postby Fiona Beddoes-Jones » Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:55 am

Many of you will know that as well as running the Cognitive Fitness Consultancy, I’m currently doing a part-time PhD studying Authentic Leadership. I’ve recently come across what seemed to me to be an ethical dilemma in the sense that it was something that I simply couldn’t ignore – to do the ‘right’ thing, it seemed to me that someone had to do something …………. And as I knew from experience that if I didn’t raise the issue no-one else would, - it seemed to me that for all student’s benefit (not simply my own), that I had to do something.

Here’s a transcript of the actual email that I sent to the Dean of the Business School where I’m studying. I also sent it to a number of other people because as you probably know, universities are notoriously political places! I had to think long and hard before I stuck my head above the parapet, because it seems to me that if you do that, people will either follow you or shoot you, and I genuinely didn’t know which would be the case here ……………

The draft email sat on my desktop for about a week before I finally had the courage to send it.

Did I do the right thing? Will I be the villain or the hero in this story? What would you have done?

Ref: Module 1234 Research Ethics
Sirs,

I am writing, (as a XXXX PhD student), to express my concern that the above module is not being offered / delivered for post-graduate research students within the University for the second year running.